In recognition of National Work Zone Awareness Week, April 11-15, 2022, TxDOT reminds motorists to make driving safely a priority when passing through the state's more than 3,100 active work zones. In 2021, more than 26,000 traffic crashes occurred in work zones in Texas, resulting in 244 deaths, a 33 percent increase in traffic fatalities over the previous year. Another 856 people were seriously injured.
Drivers and their passengers accounted for the majority of those who died in Texas work zone crashes in 2021. 195 motorists and vehicle passengers were killed, along with 38 pedestrians, four bicyclists, and three roadside construction workers. Speeding and driver inattention were among the leading causes of work zone crashes.
Work zones present a different and sometimes challenging environment for drivers to navigate. Motorists may encounter uneven pavement, narrow lanes, concrete barriers, slow-moving heavy equipment and vehicles that make sudden stops. Please keep the following tips in mind when driving through work zones:
- Slow down, follow the posted work zone speed limit, and adjust your driving to match conditions.
- Pay attention. Avoid distractions, keep your mind on the road and put your phone away.
- Don’t tailgate. Give yourself room to stop in a hurry. Rear-end collisions are the most common kind of work zone crashes.
- Watch out for road crews. The only protective gear they wear is reflective clothing, a hard hat, and safety boots. Remember, they want to get home safely too.
- Allow extra time. Road construction can slow things down. Count on it and plan for it.
More Work to Do
TxDOT continues to work on increased safety measures and public outreach efforts to educate motorists about driving in work zones. We encourage everyone, from engineers and planners to drivers and pedestrians, to take responsibility for work zone safety. As part of this outreach, we remind drivers of the state's Move Over/Slow Down law. It requires drivers to move over a lane or reduce their speed to 20 mph below the posted speed limit when approaching a TxDOT vehicle, emergency vehicle, law enforcement, tow truck, or utility vehicle stopped with flashing lights activated on the roadside or shoulder. Violation of this law can result in a fine of up to $2,000.
- Info Card (English and Español)
- Poster – Get Home Safe (English and Español)
- Poster – Hey, I Don't Speed (English and Español)
- Poster – Not a Racetrack (English and Español)
- Poster – Slow Down (English and Español)
- Billboard – Eyes Up!
- Billboard – Get Home Safe
- Billboard – Hey, I Don't Speed
- Billboard – Slow Down
- Gas Station Pump Toppers (English and Español)
- Gas Station Window Cling