Connecting You With Texas
  • Family
  • Jobs
  • Education
  • Opportunities
  • Attractions
  • Entertainment
  • Wide Open Spaces
  • History
  • Quality of Life
  • Sports
  • Parks
  • Shopping
  • Services
  • People
  • Wildflowers
  • BBQ
  • Shores
  • Schools
  • Rodeos
  • Music
  • Tacos
  • Adventure
  • Trails
  • Traditions
  • Safely
  • Sunsets
  • Culture
  • Festivals
  • Friends
  • Life
  • Possibilities
  • Legends

 


Save Me a Seat

Motor vehicle crashes are a leading cause of death among children. While most people believe their children are properly buckled up, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) points out that 59% of all car seats are misused. The best way to keep young children safe in your vehicle is to make sure they’re properly buckled up in a car seat. That means selecting a car seat that’s appropriate for a child’s age and size and installing it correctly.

TxDOT’s free safety seat inspections are available throughout the year. To schedule a virtual car seat check-up with a TxDOT Traffic Safety Specialist, visit SaveMeWithaSeat.org and enter your ZIP code to find the nearest TxDOT district office.

Visit SaveMeWithaSeat.org to find out more about how to keep your child safe. Drivers can also find out if a child should be in a rear-facing, forward-facing or booster seat and get other child passenger safety tips at the website.

Texas law requires that all children younger than 8 years old, unless they are taller than 4 feet 9 inches, be secured in a child safety seat whenever they ride in a vehicle. Older children who have outgrown a booster seat must be buckled with a seat belt. Failure to properly restrain a child can result in a ticket of up to $250.

More Information

Public Service Announcements

Digital Banners

 

Print

Media Center