Metropolitan Planning Organizations in Texas
Skip to main content

Metropolitan Planning Organizations in Texas

A Metropolitan Planning Organization is a local decision-making body that is responsible for overseeing the metropolitan transportation planning process. An MPO is required for each urban area with a population of more than 50,000 people.

Listed below are the MPOs in Texas. Additional information about Texas' MPOs can be found at the Association of Texas Metropolitan Planning Organizations.

Metropolitan Planning Organizations list

MPO District Urban area
Abilene Abilene Abilene
Amarillo Amarillo Amarillo
South East Texas Regional Planning Commission Beaumont Beaumont, Port Arthur
Bryan-College Station Bryan College Station, Bryan
Capital Area Austin Austin, San Marcos
Corpus Christi Corpus Christi Corpus Christi
North Central Texas Council of Governments Dallas, Fort Worth, Paris Dallas, Fort Worth, Arlington, Denton, Lewisville, McKinney
El Paso El Paso El Paso
Houston-Galveston Area Council Houston Houston, Conroe, The Woodlands, Lake Jackson, Angleton, Texas City
Killeen-Temple Brownwood, Waco Killeen, Temple
Laredo Webb County Area Laredo Laredo
Longview Atlanta, Tyler Longview
Lubbock Lubbock Lubbock
Permian Basin Odessa Midland, Odessa
Rio Grande Valley Pharr Brownsville, Harlingen and McAllen
San Angelo San Angelo San Angelo
Alamo Area San Antonio San Antonio
Grayson Paris Sherman
Texarkana Atlanta Texarkana
Tyler Tyler Tyler
Victoria Yoakum Victoria
Waco Waco Waco
Wichita Falls Wichita Falls Wichita Falls