Border Trade Advisory Committee
Skip to main content

Border Trade Advisory Committee


The Border Trade Advisory Committee provides a forum for the exchange of communications between the Texas Transportation Commission, TxDOT, the governor, and committee members representing border trade interests.


BTAC was created in 2001 by the 77th Texas Legislature to define and develop a strategy and make recommendations to the commission and the governor for addressing the highest priority border trade transportation challenges. BTAC recommendations are included in border reports that are presented to the presiding officers of the state House and state Senate.


  • Ensure the participation of port-of-entry stakeholders in TxDOT's transportation processes.
  • Ensure that the Texas-Mexico Border transportation needs are addressed in TxDOT's transportation planning.
  • Provide input into the development of the Border Strategic Transportation Initiatives Plan.
  • Contribute to the development of a comprehensive Texas Border Transportation Master Plan.
  • Advise TxDOT on trade issues, priorities, and projects and funding needs for freight improvements to support the state's economic vitality and global competitiveness.

BTAC meetings


Date Time Location Agenda Transcript Presentation
02/20/24 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. MST El Paso Convention Center, C St
El Paso, TX 79901
02/20/24 agenda    

BTAC members

Appointments confirmed by Texas Transportation Commission

Name Organization
Jane Nelson Office of the Texas Secretary of State
Rafael Aldrete Texas Transportation Institute
Jon Barela Borderplex Alliance
Luis Bazán Pharr International Bridge
Eduardo Calvo El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization
Eduardo Campirano Port of Brownsville
Andrew Canon Rio Grande Metropolitan Planning Organization
Daniel Silva Rio Grande Valley Partnership
Roberto Tinajero El Paso International Bridge System
John Esparza Texas Motor Transportation Association
Juan Flores Port San Antonio
Dante Galeazzi Texas International Produce Association
Vacant Cameron County Bridge System
Cynthia Garza-Reyes Pharr Economic Development Corporation
Jake Giesbrecht Presidio International Port Authority
Raquel Espinosa Union Pacific Railroad
Lisa Loftus-Otway University of Texas at Austin
Marga Lopez Progreso International Bridge
Mayor Alvaro "Al" Arreola City of Del Rio
Stan Meador Texas Pacifico Transportation
Juan Olaguibel Mcallen-Hidalgo-Anzalduas International Bridge
Iliana Holguin Guadalupe-Tornillo Bridge
Jesus Reyna City of Donna
Mayor Victor Treviño City of Larendo MPO
Gerardo Schwebel International Bank of Commerce
Daniel Mendoza BNSF Railway
Mayor Rolando Salinas City of Eagle Pass
Tommy Taylor Fasken Oil and Ranch
Sam Vale Starr-Camargo Bridge Company
Cameron Walker Permian Basin Metropolitan Planning Organization
Warren Erdman Kansas City Southern Railroad
Maria-Elena Giner International Boundary and Water Commission

Binational regional steering committee meetings