2021 ADA Self Evaluation and Transition Plan
Skip to main content
Texas Department of Transportation
Connecting You With Texas
  • Family
  • Jobs
  • Education
  • Opportunities
  • Attractions
  • Entertainment
  • Wide Open Spaces
  • History
  • Quality of Life
  • Sports
  • Parks
  • Shopping
  • Services
  • People
  • Wildflowers
  • BBQ
  • Shores
  • Schools
  • Rodeos
  • Music
  • Tacos
  • Adventure
  • Trails
  • Traditions
  • Safely
  • Sunsets
  • Culture
  • Festivals
  • Friends
  • Life
  • Possibilities
  • Legends


View this page in an alternative format.

What is a self-evaluation and transition plan?

Title II of the ADA and Section 504 requires us, as part of a self-evaluation, to assess our services, policies, and practices to modify any that discriminate against people with disabilities. It also requires that we develop a transition plan to identify physical changes to facilities necessary to achieve “program access.” We focus on program access to ensure that pedestrian and other facilities available to the public comply with state and federal accessibility standards.

TxDOT ADA Transition Plan

Why is the ADA self-evaluation and transition plan being updated?

We originally developed our ADA Transition Plan in 2004. Industry best practices require public agencies to update their ADA Self Evaluation & Transition Plans to reflect the changing environment and infrastructure over time. This important process ensures that agencies can identify and remove barriers to their programs, policies, and activities, which include physical assets, services, and vehicles of communication.

Read the FAQ.

 Watch the FAQ video.

Public Outreach

Our public outreach ensures that members of the community living with disabilities have an opportunity to be informed about our process and provide feedback. Once public outreach has concluded, we take into consideration the critical information received from public feedback as our divisions and districts begin to organize information for implementation planning.

Please attend the meeting that pertains to your region. See the map or read the ‘Regional Information’ below to determine your region. If you are unable to attend during the time of the session, we will post recordings following the last event.

Use the links below to access the meeting. The link will go live on the date and time listed below.

Date Session Additional Information
7/21/21 North Region Session I
10:00-11:30 a.m.
7/21/21 North Region Session II
2:00-3:30 p.m.
Repeat of Session I
7/22/21 South Region
10:00-11:30 a.m.
7/22/21 West Region
2:00-3:30 p.m.
7/23/21 East Region Session I
10:00-11:30 a.m.
7/23/21 East Region Session II
2:00-3:30 p.m.
Repeat of Session I

North, East, South, and West Regions of Texas Map

Regional Information

North Region

Includes the following counties: Anderson, Archer, Baylor, Bell, Bosque, Bowie, Brown, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Clay, Coleman, Collin, Comanche, Cooke, Coryell, Dallas, Delta, Denton, Eastland, Ellis, Erath, Falls, Fannin, Franklin, Grayson, Gregg, Hamilton, Harrison, Henderson, Hill, Hood, Hopkins, Hunt, Jack, Johnson, Kaufman, Lamar, Lampasas, Limestone, Marion, McCulloch, McLennan, Mills, Montague, Morris, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Panola, Parker, Rains, Red River, Rockwall, Rusk, San Saba, Smith, Somervell, Stephens, Tarrant, Throckmorton, Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt, Wichita, Wilbarger, Wise, Wood, Young.

South Region

Includes the following counties: Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bandera, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Blanco, Brooks, Burnet, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Colorado, Comal, Dimmit, DeWitt, Duval, Fayette, Frio, Gillespie, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hays, Hidalgo, Jackson, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kendall, Kenedy, Kerr, Kinney, Kleberg, La Salle, Lavaca, Lee, Live Oak, Llano, Mason, Matagorda, Maverick, McMullen, Medina, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Starr, Travis, Uvalde, Val Verde, Victoria, Webb, Wharton, Willacy, Williamson, Wilson, Zapata, Zavala.

East Region

Includes the following counties: Angelina, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Chambers, Fort Bend, Freestone, Galveston, Grimes, Hardin, Harris, Houston, Jasper, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Madison, Milam, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, Newton, Orange, Polk, Robertson, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity, Tyler, Walker, Waller, Washington.

West Region

Includes the following counties: Andrews, Armstrong, Bailey, Borden, Brewster, Briscoe, Callahan, Carson, Castro, Childress, Cochran, Coke, Collingsworth, Concho, Cottle, Crane, Crockett, Crosby, Culberson, Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Donley, Ector, Edwards, El Paso, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Gaines, Garza, Glasscock, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Haskell, Hemphill, Hockley, Howard, Hudspeth, Hutchinson, Irion, Jeff Davis, Jones, Kent, Kimble, King, Knox, Lamb, Lipscomb, Loving, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, Menard, Midland, Mitchell, Moore, Motley, Nolan, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Pecos, Potter, Presidio, Randall, Reagan, Real, Reeves, Roberts, Runnels, Schleicher, Scurry, Shackelford, Sherman, Sterling, Stonewall, Sutton, Swisher, Taylor, Terrell, Terry, Tom Green, Upton, Ward, Wheeler, Winkler, Yoakum.

Public Comment

TxDOT is encouraging feedback from all citizens, especially the disability community, during our thirty-day comment period from July 21st through August 23rd. You can submit your comments through the public outreach survey.


The public outreach events will be conducted in English. If English is not your primary language and you have difficulty communicating effectively in English, you may need an interpreter or document translator; one will be provided to you upon request. Each event will provide captioning and American Sign Language during the presentation. Other accessible formats are available upon request. If you need an accommodation that is not mentioned, please contact (512) 416-4700 no later than July 14, 2021. Please be aware that advance notice is requested as some accommodations may require time for us to arrange.


For more information about the updated ADA Transition Plan and Self Evaluation, public outreach events, or submitting public comments, reach out to any of our district contacts.




Copyright 2021  •  Texas Department of Transportation  •  All Rights Reserved  •  Disclaimer  •  Privacy & Security Policy  •  Accessibility
125 East 11th Street  •  Austin, Texas 78701