POSTPONED: Virtual Public Meeting - ADA Self-Evaluation and Transition Plan North, South, East and West Regions
Skip to main content

POSTPONED: Virtual Public Meeting - ADA Self-Evaluation and Transition Plan North, South, East and West Regions


PLEASE NOTE: These virtual public meetings are postponed until further notice.


July 21, 2021 - POSTPONED

North Region Session I: 10:00-11:30 a.m. CST – Zoom Link
North Region Session II: 2:00-3:30 p.m. CST (Repeat of Session I) – Zoom Link

July 22, 2021 - POSTPONED
South Region: 10:00-11:30 a.m. CST – Zoom Link
West Region: 2:00-3:30 p.m. CST – Zoom Link

July 23, 2021 - POSTPONED
East Region Session I: 10:00-11:30 a.m. CST – Zoom Link
East Region Session II: 2:00-3:30 p.m. CST (Repeat of Session I) – Zoom Link


This meeting is intended to provide members of the community living with disabilities an opportunity to be informed about TxDOT’s process and provide feedback. Once public outreach has concluded, the critical information received from public feedback will be taken into consideration as TxDOT Divisions and Districts begin to organize all information for implementation planning. 

Please attend the meeting that pertains to your region. See below to identify which region you are in. For those not able to attend a live meeting, a recording will be posted following the last meeting on July 23, 2021.

North Region

Includes the following counties: Anderson, Archer, Baylor, Bell, Bosque, Bowie, Brown, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Clay, Coleman, Collin, Comanche, Cooke, Coryell, Dallas, Delta, Denton, Eastland, Ellis, Erath, Falls, Fannin, Franklin, Grayson, Gregg, Hamilton, Harrison, Henderson, Hill, Hood, Hopkins, Hunt, Jack, Johnson, Kaufman, Lamar, Lampasas, Limestone, Marion, McCulloch, McLennan, Mills, Montague, Morris, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Panola, Parker, Rains, Red River, Rockwall, Rusk, San Saba, Smith, Somervell, Stephens, Tarrant, Throckmorton, Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt, Wichita, Wilbarger, Wise, Wood, and Young.

South Region

Includes the following counties: Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bandera, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Blanco, Brooks, Burnet, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Colorado, Comal, Dimmit, DeWitt, Duval, Fayette, Frio, Gillespie, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hays, Hidalgo, Jackson, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kendall, Kenedy, Kerr, Kinney, Kleberg, La Salle, Lavaca, Lee, Live Oak, Llano, Mason, Matagorda, Maverick, McMullen, Medina, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Starr, Travis, Uvalde, Val Verde, Victoria, Webb, Wharton, Willacy, Williamson, Wilson, Zapata, and Zavala.

East Region

Includes the following counties: Angelina, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Chambers, Fort Bend, Freestone, Galveston, Grimes, Hardin, Harris, Houston, Jasper, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Madison, Milam, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, Newton, Orange, Polk, Robertson, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity, Tyler, Walker, Waller, and Washington.

West Region

Includes the following counties: Andrews, Armstrong, Bailey, Borden, Brewster, Briscoe, Callahan, Carson, Castro, Childress, Cochran, Coke, Collingsworth, Concho, Cottle, Crane, Crockett, Crosby, Culberson, Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Donley, Ector, Edwards, El Paso, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Gaines, Garza, Glasscock, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Haskell, Hemphill, Hockley, Howard, Hudspeth, Hutchinson, Irion, Jeff Davis, Jones, Kent, Kimble, King, Knox, Lamb, Lipscomb, Loving, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, Menard, Midland, Mitchell, Moore, Motley, Nolan, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Pecos, Potter, Presidio, Randall, Reagan, Real, Reeves, Roberts, Runnels, Schleicher, Scurry, Shackelford, Sherman, Sterling, Stonewall, Sutton, Swisher, Taylor, Terrell, Terry, Tom Green, Upton, Ward, Wheeler, Winkler, and Yoakum.


TxDOT is required by regulations under Title II of the ADA and Section 504 to assess its services, policies, and practices as part of a self-evaluation; to modify any policies or practices that discriminate against people with disabilities; and to develop a transition plan identifying any physical changes to facilities that are necessary to achieve “program access.” A focus on program access is to ensure that programs (such as pedestrian facilities or other various facilities available to the public) are accessible when viewed in their entirety.

TxDOT developed an ADA Transition Plan in 2004. It is considered best practice for public agencies to update their ADA self-evaluation and transition plans to reflect the changing environment and infrastructure over time. This is important to ensure that agencies can identify and remove barriers to their programs, policies, and activities, which include physical assets, services, and means of communication.

Public Comment:

TxDOT is encouraging feedback from all citizens, especially the disability community, during our thirty-day comment period from July 21, 2021, through August 23, 2021. You can submit your comments through the public outreach survey.

Special Accommodations:

The public outreach events will be conducted in English. If English is not your primary language and you have difficulty communicating effectively in English, you may need an interpreter or document translator; one will be provided to you upon request. Each event will provide captioning and American Sign Language during the presentation. Other accessible formats are available upon request. If you need an accommodation that is not mentioned, please contact (512) 416-4700 no later than July 14, 2021. Please be aware that advance notice is requested as some accommodations may require time for TxDOT to arrange.


Texas Department of Transportation
125 E. 11th Street
Austin, TX 78701-2483
ATTN: CIV – ADA Transition Plan

(512) 416-4700

Posted: July 6, 2021