Teen Click It or Ticket
Vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death among teenagers. In Texas, 266 teen drivers and passengers (ages 15-20) were killed in traffic crashes in 2019, and 1,718 were seriously injured. Of those killed, 109 (41 percent) were not wearing their seat belts at the time of the crash.
Buckling up is the best protection in a crash. In fact, wearing a seat belt reduces the risk of dying in a crash by 45 percent in a car and up to 60 percent in a pickup truck (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration).
TxDOT conducts an annual public awareness campaign, "Teen Click It or Ticket," aimed at increasing teen seat belt use by reaching out to Texas teens through TV, radio, digital advertising and social media. In previous years, we have taken this safety message in person to schools across Texas. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, we have discovered new, creative and safe ways to present this lifesaving message to teens.
This year, Teen Click It or Ticket will have an increased social media presence alongside traditional television and radio spots. Our Social Campaign will feature videos of teens during the age of social distancing taking the necessary precautions while continuing to emphasize the importance of wearing a seat belt to protect themselves and their loved ones. In addition, a sharable, branded filter of a seat belt across the screen will frame teens wearing a seat belt to convey responsible behavior while in a vehicle.
Additionally, the campaign will host a Facebook Event on Feb. 17, 2021 featuring Danielle Boyd, TxDOT Dallas Public Information Officer, Sgt. Deon Cockrill, Texas Department of Public Safety and Lisa Minjares-Kyle, a representative for Teens in the Driver Seat. Teens in the Driver Seat is a program which educates teens about the importance of traffic safety. The Facebook Event will be pre-recorded.
The same day as the Facebook Event, a video news package will be distributed to Texas media outlets. The video news package will include interviews from TxDOT, the Texas Department of Public Safety, a Teens in the Driver Seat representative and two teenagers who are members of the Teens in the Driver Seat teen advisory board. While we believe this new outreach effort will help teens engage with our message, we also hope to be able to visit schools again with our Teen Click It or Ticket experience in the coming year.
Texas law requires the driver and all passengers in a vehicle to wear a seat belt. Violators face fines and license suspension.
- Unbuckled drivers and passengers, even those in the back seat, face fines and court costs of up to $200.
- Drivers on the Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program could risk license suspension if they receive a seat belt citation.
It's important to always buckle up—day or night. Every rider, every ride.