District Engineer
Skip to main content
Texas Department of Transportation
Connecting You With Texas
  • Family
  • Jobs
  • Education
  • Opportunities
  • Attractions
  • Entertainment
  • Wide Open Spaces
  • History
  • Quality of Life
  • Sports
  • Parks
  • Shopping
  • Services
  • People
  • Wildflowers
  • BBQ
  • Shores
  • Schools
  • Rodeos
  • Music
  • Tacos
  • Adventure
  • Trails
  • Traditions
  • Safely
  • Sunsets
  • Culture
  • Festivals
  • Friends
  • Life
  • Possibilities
  • Legends


Chris Cowen

Christopher "Chris" Cowen, P.E.

District Engineer, San Angelo

  • emailEmail
  • phone 325-944-1501
  • address 4502 Knickerbocker Road, San Angelo, TX 76904



Christopher "Chris" Cowen, P.E., is the district engineer for TxDOT's San Angelo District.

Cowen oversees the planning, designing, building, operation and maintenance of the multi-modal state transportation system for the 15-county San Angelo District. The district comprises Coke, Concho, Crockett, Edwards, Glasscock, Irion, Kimble, Menard, Reagan, Real, Runnels, Schleicher, Sterling, Sutton and Tom Green counties.

Cowen began his TxDOT career in 2000 with the Bryan district working in the Brenham area office. While in Brenham, he held several different positions assisting with the design, construction and maintenance operations of a three-county area. In 2007, Cowen joined TxDOT’s Construction Division serving as a field engineer assisting the Dallas, San Antonio, Laredo, Lufkin and San Angelo districts with construction contract management. Cowen returned to the Bryan district in 2011 to serve as the director of construction. In this role, he oversaw the construction program with contracts totaling more than $500 million and assisted the district’s leadership with managing day-to-day operations. Cowen began his current role as San Angelo district engineer in October 2020.

Cowen earned his bachelor of science in civil engineering from Texas A&M University in 2000, and he received his license as a professional engineer in 2005.




Copyright 2022  •  Texas Department of Transportation  •  All Rights Reserved  •  Disclaimer  •  Privacy & Security Policy  •  Accessibility
125 East 11th Street  •  Austin, Texas 78701