Tyler District Engineer

Dennis R. Cooley, P.E., is the district engineer for TxDOT's Tyler District.

The district comprises eight counties: Anderson, Cherokee, Gregg, Henderson, Rusk, Smith, Van Zandt and Wood.

While earning his bachelor's degree in civil engineering from Texas A&M University, Cooley joined TxDOT's Tyler District as a summer employee. A 1982 graduate, he returned to TxDOT's Mineola engineering office as a project manager in 1983. Two years later, he transferred to the district's design section as a design team leader.

Cooley became a professional engineer in 1987. From 1987 to 1992, he was the Mineola area engineer responsible for TxDOT activities in Van Zandt and Wood counties. In 1992, he became the area engineer in Longview, responsible for maintenance, engineering and management operations in Gregg and Rusk counties.

Named Tyler District's director of maintenance in 1993, Cooley provided engineering support to area engineers and maintenance supervisors in an eight-county area. He managed all district operations in the absence of the district engineer. In April 1999, he was selected as district engineer of the Atlanta District, responsible for all TxDOT operations in a nine-county area. Cooley was named Lufkin District Engineer in July 1999 where he managed all district operations in the nine-county area. He remained in Lufkin until being selected to head the Tyler District in July 2014.

Cooley, now TxDOT’s longest tenured district engineer, received the Bob M. Gallaway Award in 2013 presented annually by the Texas Asphalt Pavement Association Seal Coat Committee. He is a past member and president of the Mineola Rotary Club.

Contact Cooley by phone at (903) 510-9100 or by email.