

Meeting Agenda

8:30 - 9:00 a.m.	Coffee and Networking	Virtual members can join online at 8:45 a.m
9:00 - 9:10 a.m.	Welcome and Opening Remarks	Welcome and
	Honorable Brenda Gunter	introductions
	Mayor, City of San Angelo, I-27 Advisory Committee Chair	Opening remarks and
	Caroline Mays, AICP	perspectives
	Director, Planning and Modal Programs, TxDOT Mildred Litchfield.	
	Deputy Division Director, Transportation Planning and Programming Division	
	Alejandro "Alex" G. Meade III	
	Commissioner, Texas Transportation Commission	
9:10 - 9:15 a.m.	Roll Call /Safety Minute	
	Cary Karnstadt	
	Project Development Manager, Transportation Planning and Programming Division, TxDO	-
9:15 - 9:25 a.m.	I-27 Designation	
	Lorena Echeverria de Misi, P.E.	
	Corridor Planning Branch Manager, Transportation Planning and Programming Division, TxDOT	
9:25 - 9:30 a.m.	Update from Ports-to-Plains Alliance	
	Lauren Garduno	
	President and CEO, Ports-to-Plains Alliance	
9:30 - 10:40 a.m.	2025 Unified Transportation Program Update	
	Blair Johnson, P.E.	
	Amarillo District Engineer	
	Steven Warren, P.E.	
	Lubbock District Engineer	
	Michael Haithcock, P.E	
	Abilene Director of Transportation Planning and Development	
	Eric Lykins, P.E.	
	Odessa District Engineer	
	John DeWitt, P.E.	
	San Angelo Director of Transportation Planning and Development Epigmenio Gonzalez, P.E.	
	Laredo District Engineer	
10:40 - 11:10 a.m.	Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Update	
	Juan Mendive	
	MPO Director, Laredo and Webb County MPO Major Hofheins	
	MPO Director, San Angelo MPO	
	Placido Madera	
	MPO Director, Eagle Pass MPO	
11:10 - 11:30 a.m.	Statewide Long-Range Transportation Plan	
	Giacomo Yaquinto	
	Statewide Planning Branch Manager	
11:30 a.m.	Adjourn	

Speaker Bios



Honorable Brenda Gunter

Mayor, City of San Angelo, Advisory Committee Chair Brenda has been instrumental in the revitalization of downtown and the creation of the TIRZ program to help local businesses. She was named San Angelo's 2009 Citizen of the Year, served as the 2010 United Way Campaign chair and has received awards for the Girl Scout's Women of Distinction and the Standard-Times' Jefferson Award. She is well known for her successful work in downtown revitalization and now wants to put her energy to work helping all small business and citizens in San Angelo.



Alejandro "Alex" G. Meade III
Texas Transportation Commissioner

Alex is a member of the Texas Transportation Commission, which oversees statewide activities of the Texas Department of Transportation. He was appointed commissioner by Governor Greg Abbott on March 21, 2023. Meade, who lives in Mission, was appointed to serve on the Commission for a term set to expire Feb. 1, 2025.



Mildred Litchfield
Deputy Division Director, Transportation Planning
and Programming Division

Mildred serves as the Deputy Director of the Transportation Planning and Programming (TPP) Division at the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT). In this capacity, she helps ensure division operations including directing the development of the 10-year Unified Transportation Program (UTP), the Statewide Multi-modal Transportation Plan, the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program, freight and international planning activities, public involvement as well as monitoring of the statewide traffic analysis system and transportation data management.



Cary Karnstadt
Project Development Manager

Cary has worked at TxDOT for more than 25 years in various roles before joining the TPP Division as a Corridor Planning Project Manager. His experience includes corridor planning, crash analysis, and management of transportation projects.



Honorable Curtis Parrish

Judge, Lubbock County, Advisory Committee Vice-Chair Curtis was elected Lubbock County Judge in 2018, serving as the probate, guardianship and mental health judge for Lubbock County, as well as administrative duties with the Commissioners Court. Judge Parrish has always been active in the Lubbock community, having worked with and served on the boards of several organizations, including Civic Lubbock, Inc., Lubbock United Neighborhood Association and The Salvation Army of Lubbock. He also had an active part in establishing the Buddy Holly Museum and was an integral part of the Buddy Holly Walk of Fame for many years.



Caroline Mays, AICP

Director of Planning and Modal Programs
Caroline Mays is a senior leader with over 24 years of experience in multimodal transportation planning, programming, policy, project development, and implementation at various levels. She currently serves as the Director of Planning and Modal Programs at the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), overseeing transportation planning activities across multiple divisions. Ms. Mays is a member of TxDOT's senior leadership team and currently serves as the Director of Planning and Modal Programs.



Lorena Echeverria de Misi, P.E. Corridor Planning Branch Manager

Lorena has over 30 years of experience in the private and public sectors. Her experience includes planning, design, management, and construction of urban and rural transportation projects. Before being named Manager of the TPP Division Corridor Planning Branch, she held different positions at the Pharr, San Antonio, and Austin Districts, as well as in the Professional Engineering Procurement Services (PEPS) Division.

I-27 Advisory Committee



Committee Chair **Brenda Gunter** City of San Angelo



Committee Vice-Chair

Curtis Parrish

Lubbock County



Mayor
Alvaro "Al" Arreola
City of Del Rio



Mayor **Lori Blong** City of Midland



Mayor **Robert Moore** City of Big Spring



Mayor

Mark McBrayer

City of Lubbock



Mayor

Cole Stanley

City of Amarillo



Mayor

Dr. Victor D. Trevino
City of Laredo



County Judge

Lane Carter

Tom Green County



County Judge

Alicia Law

Sherman County



County Judge Randy Johnson Howard County



County Judge
Terry Johnson
Midland County



County Judge **Lewis Owens** Val Verde County



County Judge Rowdy Rhoades Moore County



County Judge Wes Ritchey Dallam County



County Judge
Nancy Tanner
Potter County



County Judge **Tano E. Tijerina** Webb County



President & CEO **Tracee Bentley** Permian Strategic Partnership



President & CEO

Kevin Carter

Segment 1: Amarillo Economic
Development Corporation



President & CEO

John Osborne

Segment 2: Lubbock Economic
Development Alliance



Economic Development Director

Jorge Ramon

Segment 3: City of Del Rio
Economic Development



Executive Vice President

Gerry Schwebel

nternational Bank of Commerce



Board Member, County Commissioner

Dee Vaughan

Texas Corn Producers