DISTRICT PROFILE

The Laredo District plans, designs, constructs, operates and maintains the state transportation system in its counties. The district primarily conducts asset preservation and mobility projects to ensure the safety of the traveling public. The Laredo District experiences varying weather conditions, including extreme heat, which present varying challenges for maintenance crews and roadway designers to maintain the district's assets and ensure the safety of the traveling public throughout the year.



FAST FACTS (FY 2024):

415,000 15,052 5,624 8,353,900 370,290 265
5,624 8,353,900 370,290
3,353,900 370,290
370,290
,
265
\$1,118,621,656.42 Billion
31%





District Engineer:Epigmenio "Epi" Gonzalez, P.E.

Physical/Mailing Address: 1817 Bob Bullock Loop Laredo, TX 78043

PH: (956) 712-7400 **Fax:** (956) 712-7401

Counties:

Dimmit, Duval, Kinney, La Salle, Maverick, Val Verde, Webb, Zavala

State Senators:

Sen. Roland Gutierrez Sen. Judith Zaffirini, Ph.D.

State Representatives:

Rep. Heriberto "Eddie" Morales, Jr. Rep. Don McLaughlin, Jr. Rep. Richard Peña Raymond Rep. Ryan Guillen

U.S. Senators:

Sen. John Cornyn Sen. Ted Cruz

U.S. Representatives:

Rep. Henry Cuellar Rep. Tony Gonzales

KEY PROJECTS UNDERWAY:

- SH 359 Widening to an undivided and divided roadway (east of SL 20) (Webb County) - \$47.6 million
- US 59/I-69W Interstate widening from US 59 to International Blvd (Webb County) - \$344 million
- SL 20 New Interchange at Lomas Del Sur Boulevard (Webb County) - \$49.5 million
- SH 84 (Hachar-Ruethinger Rd.) New location 4-lane divided highway from FM 1472 to IH35 West Frontage Rd (Webb County) - \$122 million
- US 83 Rehabilitation from FM 2688 to Webb/Dimmit County Line - \$46.8 million

PLANNED KEY PROJECTS:

- Intersection improvements @ Uniroyal Dr. (Webb County) - \$254.1 million
- IH 35 Widening of Main Lanes, Railroad Grade Separation and Direct Connectors (North of Uniroyal Dr.) (Webb County) – \$270.7 million
- US 83 Widening existing roadway to 4-lane divided from IH-35 to 1 mile north of SH 255 (Webb County) - \$50.4 million
- US 59 Upgrade to Interstate from Jacaman Rd to US 59 Intersection (Webb County) -\$116.9 million
- US 59 Upgrade to Interstate from US59/SL20 Intersection to FM 2895 (Webb County) - \$346.5 million
- SL 480 New location of Main Lanes and Railroad Grade Separation (Maverick County)
 \$142.0 million
- IH-35 New Direct Connectors at IH-35 and I-69W Intersection (Webb County) \$113.5 million
- Vallecillo Rd New location from FM 1472 to IH35 West Frontage Rd (Webb County) -\$36.6 million

MAINTENANCE: Approximately \$30 million is invested annually to maintain our existing highway system. Major expenditures include roadway preventive maintenance projects, roadside maintenance contracts, bridge maintenance projects, and traffic management improvements. We sealcoat and crackseal an estimated 1,500 lane miles per year to maintain our pavements in good condition.

CORRIDORS: The Laredo District's priority corridor efforts are I-35, US 59 (Loop 20/Future I-69W), Ports to Plains (US 83 and US 277 / Future I-27), and US 83 South / Future I-2.

SAFETY: Safety projects total \$10.9 million and include: traffic signal installations, safety lighting, high mast illumination lighting to LED, sidewalks, wrong way driver technology, intersection queue detection systems, advance warning signals, raised medians, cable barrier system, Intelligent Transportation System projects, speed radar feedback signs, widen paved shoulders, milled rumble strips, and profile markings.

BRIDGES: On-System: 893 Off-System: 190 Total: 1,083





District Engineer:Epigmenio "Epi" Gonzalez,
P.E.

Physical/Mailing Address: 1817 Bob Bullock Loop Laredo, TX 78043

PH: (956) 712-7400 **Fax:** (956) 712-7401

Counties:

Dimmit, Duval, Kinney, La Salle, Maverick, Val Verde, Webb, Zavala

State Senators:

Sen. Roland Gutierrez Sen. Judith Zaffirini, Ph.D.

State Representatives:

Rep. Heriberto "Eddie" Morales, Jr. Rep. Don McLaughlin, Jr. Rep. Richard Peña Raymond Rep. Ryan Guillen

U.S. Senators:

Sen. John Cornyn Sen. Ted Cruz

U.S. Representatives:

Rep. Henry Cuellar Rep. Tony Gonzales