These are the minutes of the special meeting of the Texas Transportation Commission held on February 21, 2024, in Austin, Texas. The meeting was called to order at 2:00 p.m. by Chairman Bugg with the following commissioners present:

### **Texas Transportation Commission:**

Texas Transportation Commission.	
J. Bruce Bugg, Jr.	Chairman
Alvin New	Commissioner
Robert C. Vaughn	Commissioner
Alex Meade	Commissioner
Steven D. Alvis	Commissioner

### Administrative Staff:

Marc Williams, Executive Director Jeff Graham, General Counsel Amanda Brown, Commission Chief Clerk

A public notice of this meeting containing all items on the proposed agenda was filed in the Office of the Secretary of State at 02:15 p.m. on February 13, 2024, as required by Government Code, Chapter 551, referred to as "The Open Meetings Act."

## **ITEM 1. Safety Briefing**

Executive Director Marc Williams directed that the Greer building safety video be shown on the screens in the Ric Williamson hearing room.

### ITEM 2. Discussion Item

a. Statewide and Rural Connectivity

This discussion was led by Planning and Modal Programs Director Caroline Mays. The commission asked questions and discussed the topic. There were no public comments on this agenda item.

# b. Safety

This discussion was led by Engineering and Safety Operations Director Jessica Butler and Traffic Safety Division Director Michael Chacon. The commission asked questions and discussed the topic. There were no public comments on this agenda item.

ITEM 3. Executive Session Pursuant to Government Code, Chapter 551 Section 551.071 - Consultation with and advice from legal counsel regarding any item on this agenda, pending or contemplated litigation, or other legal matters.

The commission did not meet in executive session.

**OPEN COMMENT PERIOD** - At the conclusion of all other agenda items, the commission will allow an open comment period, not to exceed one hour, to receive public comment on any other matter that is under the jurisdiction of the department. No action will be taken. Each

speaker will be allowed a maximum of three minutes. Speakers must be signed up prior to the beginning of the open comment period.

The commission received no comments.

Commissioner Vaughn motioned adjournment and Commissioner Alvis seconded the motion. The commission voted 5 - 0 to adjourn. The special meeting of the Texas Transportation Commission was adjourned at 3:18 pm.

APPROVED by the Texas Transportation Commission on March 28, 2024:

J. Bruce Bugg, Jr., Chairman Texas Transportation Commission

I hereby certify that the above and foregoing pages constitute the full, true, and correct record of all proceedings and official records of the Texas Transportation Commission at its special meeting on February 21, 2024, in Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*



Amanda Brown, Commission Chief Clerk Texas Department of Transportation