TEXAS TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

All Counties

MINUTE ORDER

Page 1 of 2

All Districts

Transportation Code §21.0045(b) provides that the Texas Transportation Commission (commission) shall appoint an advisory committee (committee) to assess current state law and any potential changes to state law that are needed to facilitate the implementation of advanced air mobility technology in this state.

Transportation Code §21.0045(c) provides that the commission shall appoint to the committee members to represent diverse geographic regions of the state, state and local law enforcement, the advanced air mobility industry, transportation experts, commercial airport representatives, vertical takeoff and landing operators, local governments, and the general public.

Transportation Code §21.0045(d) provides that the committee shall hold public hearings in locations across the state or via electronic means, and receive comments through an internet website, by mail, and by other methods, if appropriate.

Transportation Code §21.0045(e) provides that not later than November 1, 2024, the advisory committee shall report to the commission and to the members of the legislature the committee's findings and recommendations on any changes to state law that are needed to facilitate the development of advanced air mobility technology in this state.

Transportation Code §21.0045(f) provides that the advisory committee is abolished, and this section of the Transportation Code expires on January 1, 2025.

The commission has determined that the individuals listed below fulfill the statutory requirements to serve as members of the committee and shall serve on the committee until the committee's abolishment, subject to regular meeting attendance, active participation, and ongoing contributions to the committee's efforts. In the event a committee member does not comply with these requirements, the commission may remove and replace the member at any time during the term of service.

New Appointments with Terms Expiring on January 1, 2025: John Ackerman, Texas Commercial Airport Association Jeff Bilyeu, AAE, Texas Gulf Coast Regional Airport (Brazoria County) Maruthi R. Akella, University of Texas at Austin Andrew Chang, United Airlines Ahsan Choudhuri, University of Texas El Paso Cade Clark, Helicopter Association International Jason L. Day, Texas Department of Public Safety David Fields, AICP, City of Houston Grant Guillot, Drone Up Ernest Huffman, North Central Texas Council of Governments Gus Khankarli, PE, PMP, CLTD, City of Dallas George Kivork, Joby Aviation Brent Klavon, ANRA Technologies Amanda Nelson, Bristow Group Inc. Angel Newhart, Texas State Technical College

TEXAS TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

MINUTE ORDER

Page 2 of 2

All Counties

All Districts

Mark Ozenik, Whirl Aviation Jim Perschbach, Port San Antonio Kendal Prosack, Wing Sergio Saenz, New Mexico Salt Michael Sanders, Lone Star UAS Center of Excellence and Innovation Brent Skorup, Mercatus Center at George Mason University Thomas Swoyer, Thales Nathan Trail, Hyundai Motor Group, UAM Division Cameron Walker, Permian Basin MPO Kimberly Williams, Houston METRO

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED by the commission that the individuals identified above are appointed to serve as members of the Advanced Air Mobility Advisory Committee for the term specified.

Submitted and reviewed by:

DocuSigned by:

Caroline Mays

Director, Planning and Modal Programs

Recommended by:

DocuSigned by:

Executive Director

116574 October 26, 2023

Minute	Date
Number	Passed

Aviation Division

Background

During the 88th Regular Legislative Session, the Texas Legislature enacted legislation (S.B. 2144) directing the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) to create an Advanced Air Mobility (AAM) Advisory Committee.

Objectives/Purpose of the Committee

The purpose of the committee is to assess current state law and any potential changes that are needed to facilitate the implementation of AAM technology in the state. The legislation also calls for the committee to hold hearings throughout the state to take input on the matter. Not later than November 1, 2024, the committee is to report to the commission and legislature it's findings and recommendations.

AdvisoryCommittee's Membership, Structure, and Establishment

Established in Statute: Tex. Trans. Code §21.0045

Rule: 43 TAC 1.84 (f)

Year Established: 2023

Total # of Members: 25

Special Provisions: Membership shall include: 1) state and local law enforcement; 2) urban air mobility industry; 3) transportation expert; 4) commercial airport representative; 5) vertical takeoff and landing operators; 6) local government and general public. Members shall also represent diverse geographic areas of the state.

Term: January 1, 2025

Members Appointed By: Commission

Chair Appointed By: Selected by Committee

Aviation Division

Member	Organization	Geographic Region	Statutory Requirement
Grant Guillot	Drone Up	Virginia Beach, VA	Advanced air mobility industry
George Kivork	Joby Aviation	Los Angeles, CA	Advanced air mobility industry
Brent Klavon	ANRA Technologies	Washington, DC	Advanced air mobility industry
Angel Newhart	TSTC	Waco, TX	Advanced air mobility industry
Jim Perschbach	Port San Antonio	San Antonio, TX	Advanced air mobility industry
Kendal Prosack	Wing	Austin, TX	Advanced air mobility industry
Michael Sanders	Lone Star UAS Center of Excellence & Innovation	Corpus Christi, TX	Advanced air mobility industry
Thomas Swoyer	Thales	New Braunfels, TX	Advanced air mobility industry
Nathan Trail	Hyundai Motor Group, UAM Division	Washington, DC	Advanced air mobility industry
John Ackerman	Texas Commercial Airport Association	Dallas, TX	Commercial airport representative
Sergio Saenz	New Mexico Salt	Mission, TX	General public
Jeff Bilyeu, AAE	Texas Gulf Coast Regional Airport (Brazoria County)	Brazoria, TX	Local government
David Fields, AICP	City of Houston	Houston, TX	Local government
Ernest Huffman	NCTCOG	Dallas, TX	Local government
Gus Khankarli, PE, PMP, CLTD	City of Dallas	Dallas, TX	Local government
Cameron Walker	Permian Basin MPO	Midland, TX	Local government
Kimberly Williams	Houston METRO	Houston, TX	Local government
Jason L. Day	Texas Department of Public Safety	Austin, TX	State & local law enforcement

Member	Organization	Geographic Region	Statutory Requirement
Maruthi R. Akella	University of Texas at Austin	Austin, TX	Transportation expert
Ahsan Choudhuri	University of Texas at El Paso	El Paso, TX	Transportation expert
Brent Skorup	Mercatus Center at George Mason University	Arlington, VA	Transportation expert
Andrew Chang	United Airlines	Houston, TX	Vertical takeoff & landing operators
Cade Clark	Helicopter Assoc. International	Alexandria, VA	Vertical takeoff & landing operators
Amanda Nelson	Bristow Group Inc.	Houston, TX	Vertical takeoff & landing operators
Mark Ozenik	Whirl Aviation	Arlington, TX	Vertical takeoff & landing operators